top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoey McCune: Free-Spirited, Sound Alchemist

Balance Your Chakras with Tea

Updated: Apr 9, 2021

I serve a welcome drink in the Tea House when my guests arrive.

A very popular refreshment I serve is a chakra balancing tea. This begins the process of rebalancing and harmonizing the chakra energy centers prior to our ceremony. Herbs have been used for healing since the beginning of time and carry a powerful vibration that connect us back to the earth and our source energy. It is important to align the seven energy centers or the seven chakras. When energy centers are out of balance, they can create tensions, stress and a feeling of mental imbalance in a person. So, while we can work these chakras at a spiritual level through sound meditation, I like to also supplement these efforts with herbs that help align the body’s energy, prior to ceremony.

What are the Chakras

Everything that surrounds us is made of energy, including our bodies. Chakras are the focal point of energy in our bodies and the word itself means “wheel” in Sanskrit. The chakras are specialized energy centers which connect us to the multidimensional universe. The chakras are dimensional portals within the subtle bodies which take in and process energy of higher vibrational nature Our body has 7 chakras and they start from the base of the spine up to the top of the head. When the chakras are aligned and balanced, our body is healthy and each part receives enough energy. When out of balance, they reflect on the health of the mind and body. Each of the 7 chakras is responsible for specific physical, emotional and spiritual imbalances.

Chakras Meaning

Each chakra has a specific location in your body and they each have different symbols. They can be out of balance by being overly active or under active and this will trigger a series of symptoms, both on a mental and body level. You will find below details about each of them.

The 7 chakras are:

The Root Chakra

The color associated with this chakra is red and the location is at the base of the spine. Root Chakra represents the foundation and the feeling of being grounded. Mantra: I am When the root chakra is balanced, you feel at peace. Imbalances: too much energy causes anxiety, digestive problems, lower back problems, hip pain, weak immune system, not enough energy causes lack of concentration

The Sacral Chakra

The color of this chakra is orange and it is located right below the belly button. It is associated with the connection and ability to accept others and new experiences. Mantra: I feel When the Sacral Chakra is balanced, you welcome the feelings of pleasure, creativity, friendliness, and flow. Imbalances: addiction, obesity, eating disorders, reproductive issues, hormonal imbalance, restlessness, depression, low sex drive, lack of passion and creativity.

The Solar Plexus Chakra

The color for solar plexus chakra is yellow and it is located in the center of the belly button. It represents the ability to be confident and in control of our lives, our emotions and thoughts. Mantra: I do When the solar plexus chakra is balanced, you feel a sense of wisdom, decisiveness and personal power. Imbalances: anger, need to control, lack of compassion and empathy, low self-esteem, feeling insecure, digestive issues, internal organs imbalances (pancreas, liver, kidneys)

The Heart Chakra

The color associated is green and it is located right over the heart. Heart Chakra is focused on expressing love, compassion, forgiveness. Mantra: I love When the heart chakra is balanced, you are able to feel love for yourself and for others. Imbalances: fast heart rate, palpitations, heartburn and interpersonal relationship issues, jealousy, codependency, or being closed down, withdrawn, excessive isolation, being recluse, antisocial, holding grudges, not being to forgive.

The Throat Chakra

This chakra has the color blue associated and it is located at the base of the throat. It is responsible for our self-expression, speech and communication. Mantra: I speak Balancing the Throat chakra will make you feel like you can speak clearly with love, kindness and truth. Imbalances: talking with a louder voice and interrupting others, throat pain, frequent infections, cavities, mouth ulcers, thyroid, laryngitis, codependency, difficulties thinking before speaking

The 3rd Eye Chakra

The color of the 3rd eye chakra is indigo and it is located between your eyebrows. 3rd eye chakra is responsible for our ability to focus and see the big picture, our intuition. Mantra: I see Balancing the third eye chakra will make you feel like you are open to an intuitive sensibility and inner perception. Imbalances: disconnected from spiritual experiences, lack of clarity, lack of imagination,

weakness in the ears or eyes, headaches, sinus problems

The Crown Chakra

The Crown chakra has associated the color violet and it is located at the top of your head. This is the highest chakra and it represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually. Mantra: I understand Balancing the Crown chakra will make you feel a deeper level of consciousness, awareness, connection to Source Energy, wisdom and enlightenment.

Imbalances: feeling disconnected spiritually and out of touch with your divinity, lack of direction or purpose, nervous system disorders, migraines.

Strongly connected to chakras are various herbs, which can easily influence, improve and balance them. Here are some examples of teas which correspond to each chakra.

The Root Chakra : dandelion root, sage, ginger, elderflower, hibiscus flowers, cinnamon bark The Sacral Chakra : Calendula, fennel seed The Solar Plexus Chakra : rosemary, fennel, cinnamon, marshmallow, ginger & turmeric root

The Heart Chakra : hawthorn berries, rose petals, jasmine

The Throat Chakra : red clover flowers, lemon balm, eucalyptus, sage leaf, peppermint leaf The 3rd Eye Chakra : mint, lemon, jasmine, eyebright, rosemary leaf The Crown Chakra : lavender flowers, lotus root, gotu lola leaf, tulsi basil leaf

Lastly, my teas always have a little special vibrational and yummy punch added to them, here is my secret. I charge and infuse the water with crystal energy prior to making the tea. I also set my tea in the sun in a glass pitcher to soak up the light and energy, while it is steeping, and I often finish it off with a touch of local Mayan honey.

If you want to buy tea instead of make it yourself, Buddha Teas are excellent,

As well as several other lovely options easily found on Etsy.

Joey McCune, a free spirited Seattle Realtor turned Energy Practitioner, has traveled the world in her studies of deeply rooted spiritual traditions and rituals in many forms. She is a Sound Alchemist, Sound Healing Teacher, Gong Master, and Master Reiki Practitioner who works with Shamanic Energy and infuses Reiki Light into her work. She now lives and practices in Tulum, MX.

Her work with clients focuses on achieving a sense of balance, wellness and soul fulfillment and utilizes a combination of crystals, color theory, chakra systems, sacred geometry and Sound Healing principles.

36 views0 comments
bottom of page